Employee retention suffers when you have a poor manager.

business people

Do you know the 6 questions to ask to determine what’s happening?

In the book, First break all the rules by Buckingham & Coffman, they explore the questions above. They point out so much money is invested in salaries, perks and training. However, their research shows, staff leave a company because of issues with their manager. If your turnover is excessive, first look at your managers.

The authors discuss six powerful questions appearing below –

1-Do I know what is expected of me?
2-Do I have the materials to do my work correctly?
3-Do I work at what I excel at each day?
4-Did I get recognition for a job well done in the past seven days?
5-Does my manager or other person at work, appear to care about me personally?
6-Is someone encouraging my growth at work?

If you are a manager or business owner, examining the responses to these questions (best if it is confidential) is an excellent starting point.

What are your thoughts? I would appreciate hearing from you below.

2 thoughts on “Employee retention suffers when you have a poor manager.

Leave a Reply

